Captain George Briggs purchased a modest home on Elm Street in Great Barrington, and enlarged it circa 1860 into the handsome Italianate style popular at the time. The black and white photograph of the house shown above was taken 43 years ago by James Parrish. Records indicate that George Briggs was a dealer in shoes, boots, and rubbers. Other sources suggest that Briggs was Native American, a member of the Mahaiwe Brass Band, saloon owner, and later a meat dealer. Perhaps there was more than one George Briggs in town.
The house was later owned by the prominent Ralph Taylor family. Still later it became an apartment building, but is perhaps best known as the office of the former Berkshire Record newspaper. In recent months, the structure was completely restored and renovated by well-known resident, filmmaker, and bibliophile, Bobby Houston. Teamed up with his partner Eric Shamie and interior designer Jennifer Bianco, their boutique christened “Scout House” is quickly growing in popularity as a store specializing in unique apparel, furnishing, interiors, home goods, books, and food. The name “Scout” was inspired by a lead character—an amazing and brilliant girl—in one of Bobby Houston’s favorite books, “To Kill a Mockingbird.”
The photograph below shows the building about ten years ago when it was the Berkshire Record headquarters. The photos that follow show some of the careful renovation work, and the handsome finished results.










