Friday, June 21, 2024

News and Ideas Worth Sharing

HomeNewsMiss Hall's School...

Miss Hall’s School graduates 46

This year’s commencement remarks were delivered by award-winning author Mary Pope Osborne.

Pittsfield — Forty-six bold and creative contributors to the common good, including 22 students from Berkshire County and nearby communities, graduated on Sunday, June 2, during Miss Hall’s School’s 126th commencement.

The ceremony took place under a large tent behind the Elizabeth Gatchell Klein Arts Center on the school’s Holmes Road campus and was shared worldwide via Hudl.

Hosted by Miss Hall’s Head of School Julia Heaton, the ceremony included remarks from Senior Class President Naomi Hopkins, of Rabun County, Ga.; School President Iva Knezevic, of Belgrade, Serbia; School Vice President Hanna Heaton Wellenstein, of Pittsfield; and Miss Hall’s School Board of Trustees President Nancy Gustafson Ault, Class of 1973.

This year’s commencement remarks were delivered by award-winning author Mary Pope Osborne, who was introduced by 2024 Miss Hall’s graduates Lila and Zadie Juska, of Great Barrington. Mary is the author of many award-winning children’s books, including retellings of mythology, young-adult novels, and The New York Times number-one bestselling
“Magic Tree House” series. An international phenomenon, the series has sold over 140 million books and been translated into 35 languages.

Local graduates are Brianna Babcock, of Pittsfield; Kate Butler, of Pittsfield; Malena Carraro, of Stockbridge; Molly Casey, of Lee; Ella Cohen, of Great Barrington; Leora Cook-Dubin, of Pittsfield; Margaret (Margot) Dionne, of New Lebanon, N.Y.; Honey Fields, of New Marlborough; Sophie Gentleman, of Lenox; Ruby Hauck, of South Lee; Hanna Heaton Wellenstein, of Pittsfield; Isabella Hennessey, of Lenox; Lila Juska, of Great Barrington; Zadie Juska, of Great Barrington; Revan (Revvie) MacQueen, of Lenox; Juliana Mills, of Pittsfield; Alida (Hypnos) Perri, of Pittsfield; Kyla Rosales-Gore, of Great Barrington; Ella Tawes, of Williamstown; Madeline Tillem, of Lenox; Sophia Tillem, of Lenox; and Elise Tyler, of Lenox.

The following awards were also bestowed on members of the Class of 2024:

  • Joseph F. Buerger Memorial School Spirit Cup: Kate Butler, of Pittsfield, and Naomi Hopkins, of Rabun County, Ga.
  • Margaret Witherspoon Award: Iva Knezevic, of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Christine Fuller Holland ’33 Service Prize: Welmerly Maria, of Methuen, Mass.
  • Faculty Commendation Award: Molly Casey, of Lee
  • Meus Honor Stat Keys Awarded for MHS Core Competencies:
    • Vision: Sutra Chakma, of Khagrachari, Bangladesh, and Naomi Hopkins, of Rabun County, Ga.
    • Voice: Hanna Heaton Wellenstein, of Pittsfield, and Oumou Sidibe, of Bamako, Mali
    • Interpersonal Efficacy: Naomi Wager, of Cooperstown, N.Y., and Jiaying (Lily) Yao, of Shenzhen, China
    • Gumption: Leora Cook-Dubin, of Pittsfield, and Kyla Rosales-Gore, of Great Barrington
  • Sylvia “Rusty” Shethar Everdell ’38 Prize: Kate Butler, of Pittsfield
  • Paul C. Cabot Jr. History Prize: Sophie Gentleman, of Lenox
  • Senior Prize in Engineering and Tech Innovation: Isabella Hennessey, of Lenox
  • Iive Rouse Science Award: Iva Knezevic, of Belgrade, Serbia
  • James K. Ervin Mathematics Prize: Hanna Heaton Wellenstein, of Pittsfield
  • Horizons Award: Welmerly Maria, of Methuen, Mass.
  • English for Speakers of Other Languages Award: Ayako Ogawa, of Tokyo, Japan
  • Mansfield E. Pickett Latin Prize: Leora Cook-Dubin, of Pittsfield
  • Spanish Award: Ella Tawes, of Williamstown
  • Monique Jalbert French Prize: Nathania Williams-Jack, of Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Virginia Breene Wickwire ’67 Reading Prize: Madeline Tillem, of Lenox
  • Doris E. Pitman English Prize: Naomi Hopkins, of Rabun County, Ga.
  • Photography Award: Honey Fields, of New Marlborough
  • Susanna McCreath Music Prize: Jiaying (Lily) Yao, of Shenzhen, China
  • Angela Kalischer Theater Performance Prize: Sutra Chakma, of Khagrachari, Bangladesh
  • Angela Kalischer Technical Theater Prize: Molly Casey, of Lee
  • Ceramics Award: Revvie MacQueen, of Lenox
  • Elizabeth Gatchell Klein Studio Art Prize: Xiang Meng, of Shanghai, China
Miss Hall’s School Class of 2024. Photo courtesy of David A. Smith.

The Edge Is Free To Read.

But Not To Produce.

Continue reading

Tri-Town Board of Health proposes fee hikes

The agency unanimously approved supporting a permanent home in Stockbridge's Town Hall.

Attorney General supports proposed Housatonic Water Works rate increases, while town officials and residents are still strongly opposed

"We've heard all the arguments, and they've all been very good, but put yourself in the place of the citizens of Housatonic, and I ask you to consider rejecting this large increase and try to help them through this terrible time,” Great Barrington Selectboard Chair Stephen Bannon pleaded with the DPU.

Welcome to Real Estate Friday!

Kate Lascar of Berkshire Property Agents offers one of Great Barrington’s classic Victorian beauties in immaculate condition. An analysis of first quarter 2024 real estate sales. Architect Pamela Sandler transforms a dark, compartmentalized condo into a light, bright and open home. Plus, recent sales, gardening columns and more.

The Edge Is Free To Read.

But Not To Produce.