• Local
  • El Paso, Texas
  • more weather >

Belle Fox-Martin

More Info
Email

Belle Fox-Martin is a writer, poet, artist and UCC Congregational minister who lives in Glendale with her wife and, on average, three dogs. Her recents books include “More Than Once,” “Misplaced Day” and the forthcoming “Stone Pears.”

Articles by Belle Fox-Martin

There’s a chill in the air   

Monday, 1 Oct 2018 - There most certainly is a chill in the air. This chill is so pervasive and blowing from so many directions that our impulse is to bundle up, protect ourselves, cover our faces from this stinging wind.

A self-confessed line umpire

Tuesday, 14 Aug 2018 - Whatever empathy we express toward the man who has thirsted for 30,000 years is just a self-serving feint  to sooth our ego.

Vira Vira Equinox

Wednesday, 25 Jul 2018 - Vira says: "Giving the farmers billions is like...."

July 9th Somebody’s Birthday        

Monday, 9 Jul 2018 - Maybe you have some wise words to weave into a toast that would make the rest of us feel celebratory or at least  better about our world in general.

Vira Vira Equinox

Sunday, 1 Jul 2018 - Vira Vira poses the question of the day -- perhaps the era.

In My Back Yard

Friday, 15 Jun 2018 - In my backyard, undiscriminating addiction is gutting our children, neighbors, families.

Vira Vira Equinox

Saturday, 12 May 2018 - America doesn’t have a national dance. Perhaps it should be the limbo.

It’s Thursday morning

Thursday, 10 May 2018 - It’s Thursday morning and I could mow but I did that yesterday. Maybe I’ll write yet another note of fan mail to Allison Larkin.

Vira Vira Equinox

Saturday, 10 Mar 2018 - Vira Vira revising her favorites, given recent revelations.

Cockroaches, Lent and felled innocence

Tuesday, 20 Feb 2018 - On an average, 96 people a day are killed by gunfire in the United States. Yesterday, 17 children were killed in Florida. That leaves 79 others whose names and faces we won’t be seeing online or in print, but they are still dead.

don’t talk. just kiss

Saturday, 10 Feb 2018 - Her lips were her one point of vanity that she had carried like a phantom tiara in the thick of her arm.

A new way home

Friday, 5 Jan 2018 - It’s January 5, 2018 and depending on your perspective we are all either hopelessly lost or we are all on the road together.

Start Talking    

Tuesday, 2 Jan 2018 - No matter what action is taken to treat drug abuse what must happen first is that a dialogue has to begin. We have to talk.

Notes from afar

Saturday, 25 Feb 2017 - Reflections from Belle Fox-Martin, including the poem “Bath Time.”

Join the marches — virtually

Thursday, 19 Jan 2017 - Copy and cut out this pussy cat hat and wear it, post it, display it in a window, on your car, on Facebook.

A farewell to 2016

Saturday, 31 Dec 2016 - Like a stranger on a train, with whom you sat for a long trip, you see walking away on the platform.

Seasons Greetings

Thursday, 22 Dec 2016 - Seasons Greetings: Illustration and poem for the holiday season from Belle Fox-Martin.

Thanksgiving

Wednesday, 23 Nov 2016 - Thanks and Giving knew their names and at times did not.

Vira Vira Equinox

Monday, 7 Nov 2016 - Ever the proponent of participatory democracy, Vira Vira is on her soapbox, reflecting the spirit of the current presidential campaign.

POEM: Days of Awe

Sunday, 2 Oct 2016 - A poem for Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, that begins today at sunset, initiating ten days of spiritual self-examination. L'Shanah Tovah.